S60 T5 vs. T6
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to SwedeSpeed
    You're currently browsing Swedespeed as a guest. Please sign up or sign in and take part in the conversation with other Volvo owners and enthusiasts. With more than 2 million posts our community is one of the most active groups of Volvo owners in the world. Take a moment to sign up and enjoy all of the features our forums have to offer.

Thread: S60 T5 vs. T6

S60 T5 vs. T6

Hi--

I am an enthusuastic driver but not very experienced with high quality cars. My current car is a 2004 Mazda6, which I have really liked but which is getting old, so I am thinking about a new car. A couple of weeks ago, on a sunny Saturday morning and accompanied by my charming and cheerful 11 yr old son, I drove an S60 T5 and loved it. Yesterday, on a gloomy Saturday morning, accompanied by my 11 yr old son but also by my rather bored 8 yr old son, I drove a T6 and liked it less well. In particular, the steering didn't feel as good to me and I did not notice much difference with the additional 50 hp.

The obvious explanations which occurred to me are 1) the car really is better, but given a number of addditive small effects (gloomy weather, uninspired 8 yr old, extra 80 lbs in car due to uninspired 8 yr old, the fact that I've driven some other nice cars since driving the T5, especially the Infiniti G37x) it didn't seem better to me. Alternative explanation is 2) that maybe the 2 cars really steer and handle differently, probaly due to AWD vs FWD, and that I like the FWD feel better. It also occurred to me that the increased weight of the AWD will soak up some of the moderate increase in hp.

I was surprised by this and would be grateful for any opinions by people more experienced than myself.

Thanks

Mark

If you want AWD, the T5 will be getting it later in the year.
      2011 Audi S4 - Imola Yellow/Black Alcantara
      2004 S60R 6MT - Passion Red/Nordkap (sold)