Ongoing build - 2005 V50T with Elevate tune and 200K
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Ongoing build - 2005 V50T with Elevate tune & 200K - "V."

I'd like to introduce my new project - a 2005 V50 T AWD with an Elevate tune and almost 200K on the clock. It's been named "V." (for Vendetta).

I've read almost every piece of information I can regarding these cars; I'm new to Volvos but not new to vehicle maintenance / repairs, etc. I am, however, from the other side of the world. The rugged, uncomfortable, utilitarian vehicle side. My previous project was a Nissan Xterra that was upgraded for off-road usage, and my other car is a Subaru hatchback. A growing family and a few life changes had me looking at more comfortable, fuel-efficient vehicles. Enter Volvos. Living in Michigan, I won't ever own a FWD vehicle, so the Subaru and V50 are both AWD. This thread will be used to keep track of what’s been done, what will be done, and seeing how far past 200K I’ll be able to push this beautiful little wagon. I do plan to travel with it, mostly inner state, and I’m looking forward to seeing what kinds of places I can get to off the beaten path. My goals are to keep it simple, keep it practical, and keep it looking like a Volvo.

Stats:
      Year: 2005
      Make: Volvo
      Model: V50 T AWD
      Drivetrain: 2.4L T5 automatic
      Color: Black

Quick Reference

January 2017 / 194,000 miles
      Vehicle registered, sunroof leak fixed, wrap-around tint installed (20% rear, 35% front), headlamps and fog lamps replaced, spark plugs replaced.
      Timing belt done at 130K, battery and alternator replaced in 2016.

March 2017 / 196,000 miles
      AWD alignment completed, rear camber adjusted / corrected.

Modifications & upgrades:

[X] IPD front & rear sway bars
      [X] EuroSport Tuning strut brace
      [X] SS brake lines / slotted rotors
      [X] Elevate ECM AWD tune
      [X] Elevate 3” performance exhaust