2012 US C70 T5 Instrument Cluster, Installation
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    Results 1 to 23 of 23
    1. #1
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      JAPAN(Ishikawa)
      Posts
      29

      2012 US C70 T5 Instrument Cluster, Installation

      2012 US C70 T5 Instrument DIM Speedometer(ebay.com)

      Used “Good condition with normal wear; 55k miles” US $225.00

      The simple installation that I only replace.

      Software unnecessary. ℉→℃ / MPH→km/h ,Automatic conversion. Indication is English.

      Illumination(White LED)

      A MPH and km/h writing together are cool.

      A silver ring rises and is cool

      Silva interior completion


      The last style

      Silver plating slim moulding & Heico Hairline sticker,Installation

    2. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    3. #2
      Junior Member Idontlikemakingnames's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2016
      Location
      massachusetts
      Posts
      56
      I I've been wondering if the c70's inscription leather dash would fit in other cars. Probably not but it would be cool.

      Sent from my ONE A2005 using Tapatalk

    4. #3
      Member EngTech's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Knight's of the Round Table - TN
      Posts
      7,729
      Want did the Dash look like before ?
      ** V50 AWD - Handling & Performance Tweaks = New Stance / VW CC - Handling Tweaks - Testing & Porting - Intake Mods
      A Garden Gate will Last You a Life Time . http://s261.photobucket.com/user/Eng...0Trim%20%20etc

    5. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    6. #4
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      JAPAN(Ishikawa)
      Posts
      29
      Before
      US 2009 VOLVO S40 SPEEDOMETER CLUSTER MPH R-DESIGN/USED(ebay.com)



    7. #5
      Member EngTech's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Knight's of the Round Table - TN
      Posts
      7,729
      I Take it the Old Speedo - had - 100K and Now it's going to be in the Data Bank for Repaired . .
      ** V50 AWD - Handling & Performance Tweaks = New Stance / VW CC - Handling Tweaks - Testing & Porting - Intake Mods
      A Garden Gate will Last You a Life Time . http://s261.photobucket.com/user/Eng...0Trim%20%20etc

    8. #6
      Quote Originally Posted by Idontlikemakingnames View Post
      I I've been wondering if the c70's inscription leather dash would fit in other cars. Probably not but it would be cool.

      Sent from my ONE A2005 using Tapatalk
      I don't see why it wouldn't - everything else for the front interior swaps across the P1 cars. If you ever find one for sale, let me know - if the price is reasonable I'd give it a shot.

    9. #7
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Location
      Ohio, USA
      Posts
      361
      Where did you buy the RTI navigation screen like that?

    10. #8
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Location
      Colorado
      Posts
      38
      If youre willing to send it, I d take the old speedooo!

    11. #9
      Member GRat9717's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      NJ, USA
      Posts
      2,187
      Inspiring. I bought one to play with.
      Garage Queen - 2010 C30 R-Design Vrooooooom
      Daily - 2016 V60 T5 Drive-E Vrooooooom
      Zichrona Livracha - 2004.5 S40 T5

    12. #10
      Junior Member V50R's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2014
      Location
      Rochester Hills MI
      Posts
      792
      This thread got me digging in my stash of parts and I remembered that I bought a cluster like that for my V50. Plans have changed so I'll be selling it soon so if anyone wants this for their C30, S40 or V50 PM me please.








      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      SOLD:: 2006 V50 T5 AWD AW55, 320mm FR Brake upgrade, Elevate Intake, OBX Exhaust.
      2010 XC90 V8 Executive Latest Addition.
      2008 XC90 V8 Executive Edition, w/Muffler Delete.
      2005 XC90 V8 Black, VB replaced, S60R Brake Swaped
      2013 Jetta Sportwagen TDI 6spd. Malone S2 tuned 200hp/350tq.

    13. #11
      Junior Member nathanlevang's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2016
      Location
      Santa Clarita, CA
      Posts
      492
      Quote Originally Posted by V50R View Post
      This thread got me digging in my stash of parts and I remembered that I bought a cluster like that for my V50. Plans have changed so I'll be selling it soon so if anyone wants this for their C30, S40 or V50 PM me please.








      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      Do you know how many miles are on the odometer?

      Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

    14. #12
      Junior Member V50R's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2014
      Location
      Rochester Hills MI
      Posts
      792
      it said 41k when i got it. Has not been installed havent had a chance to do that to confirm but im sure its correct its from a 2011 or 2012 C70.
      SOLD:: 2006 V50 T5 AWD AW55, 320mm FR Brake upgrade, Elevate Intake, OBX Exhaust.
      2010 XC90 V8 Executive Latest Addition.
      2008 XC90 V8 Executive Edition, w/Muffler Delete.
      2005 XC90 V8 Black, VB replaced, S60R Brake Swaped
      2013 Jetta Sportwagen TDI 6spd. Malone S2 tuned 200hp/350tq.

    15. #13
      Member GRat9717's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      NJ, USA
      Posts
      2,187
      My unit was $65 shipped on eBay. Before shabbat started the other day I swapped the dials, backdrop, and needles over to my C30. Looks good, but do have to get the speedo gauge set right. Everything else is spot on. I didn't get any pics... It was actually really easy and the needles are tougher than they look/feel.
      Garage Queen - 2010 C30 R-Design Vrooooooom
      Daily - 2016 V60 T5 Drive-E Vrooooooom
      Zichrona Livracha - 2004.5 S40 T5

    16. #14
      Junior Member V50R's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2014
      Location
      Rochester Hills MI
      Posts
      792
      I got mine for sale since i sold the V50.

      Here is a link to the classifieds.

      http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthr...05#post5271705
      SOLD:: 2006 V50 T5 AWD AW55, 320mm FR Brake upgrade, Elevate Intake, OBX Exhaust.
      2010 XC90 V8 Executive Latest Addition.
      2008 XC90 V8 Executive Edition, w/Muffler Delete.
      2005 XC90 V8 Black, VB replaced, S60R Brake Swaped
      2013 Jetta Sportwagen TDI 6spd. Malone S2 tuned 200hp/350tq.

    17. #15
      Junior Member nathanlevang's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2016
      Location
      Santa Clarita, CA
      Posts
      492
      Quote Originally Posted by V50R View Post
      I got mine for sale since i sold the V50.

      Here is a link to the classifieds.

      http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthr...05#post5271705
      So, how does setting the clock work since you only have the mileage reset button? The clock adjustment peg is gone from the 08+ cluster

      Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

    18. #16
      Junior Member V50R's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2014
      Location
      Rochester Hills MI
      Posts
      792
      Quote Originally Posted by nathanlevang View Post
      So, how does setting the clock work since you only have the mileage reset button? The clock adjustment peg is gone from the 08+ cluster

      Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
      You know... I thought the one peg served as both... Spin side to side for clock and PUSH for reset.... could be wrong though. Ill check the peg tonight to see if it does that.
      SOLD:: 2006 V50 T5 AWD AW55, 320mm FR Brake upgrade, Elevate Intake, OBX Exhaust.
      2010 XC90 V8 Executive Latest Addition.
      2008 XC90 V8 Executive Edition, w/Muffler Delete.
      2005 XC90 V8 Black, VB replaced, S60R Brake Swaped
      2013 Jetta Sportwagen TDI 6spd. Malone S2 tuned 200hp/350tq.

    19. #17
      Member GRat9717's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      NJ, USA
      Posts
      2,187
      Quote Originally Posted by V50R View Post
      You know... I thought the one peg served as both... Spin side to side for clock and PUSH for reset.... could be wrong though. Ill check the peg tonight to see if it does that.
      This. Also, additionally, on newer models you set the clock through the radio interface. If the reset button is grooved you can set the clock that way. It doesn't look like you can set the clock on this unit by itself.
      Last edited by GRat9717; 04-20-2017 at 10:20 AM.
      Garage Queen - 2010 C30 R-Design Vrooooooom
      Daily - 2016 V60 T5 Drive-E Vrooooooom
      Zichrona Livracha - 2004.5 S40 T5

    20. #18
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Location
      Ohio, USA
      Posts
      361
      Quote Originally Posted by GRat9717 View Post
      This. Also, additionally, on newer models you set the clock through the radio interface. If the reset button is grooved you can set the clock that way.
      Do you know if it's possible to buy a new cluster and then allow it to set the clock through the radio? Or will it not update with an older model radio

      Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
      2006 S40 2.4i FWD

    21. #19
      Member GRat9717's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      NJ, USA
      Posts
      2,187
      Quote Originally Posted by evy0311 View Post
      Do you know if it's possible to buy a new cluster and then allow it to set the clock through the radio? Or will it not update with an older model radio

      Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
      No because the software is different. Best thing to do in this case is to swap the dials, surrounds, and needles over. It's what I did, even though I can set the clock in the way I mentioned. Seen here (R-Design to C70 part swap): https://goo.gl/photos/cnApeYjRfWpjzmex7

      Now only if I could get my V60 cluster to fit... https://goo.gl/photos/a2pQDWCpDPHMWtLy5
      Garage Queen - 2010 C30 R-Design Vrooooooom
      Daily - 2016 V60 T5 Drive-E Vrooooooom
      Zichrona Livracha - 2004.5 S40 T5

    22. #20
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Location
      Ohio, USA
      Posts
      361
      Quote Originally Posted by GRat9717 View Post
      No because the software is different. Best thing to do in this case is to swap the dials, surrounds, and needles over. It's what I did, seen here (R-Design to C70 part swap): https://goo.gl/photos/cnApeYjRfWpjzmex7
      Okay good idea... I've been looking at a couple r-design clusters on eBay.

      Also, some of the newer cluster Volvo made have an LCD csreen in the center of the dial... Would it be possible to use on of those on this or no?

      Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
      2006 S40 2.4i FWD

    23. #21
      Member GRat9717's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      NJ, USA
      Posts
      2,187
      Quote Originally Posted by evy0311 View Post
      Okay good idea... I've been looking at a couple r-design clusters on eBay.

      Also, some of the newer cluster Volvo made have an LCD csreen in the center of the dial... Would it be possible to use on of those on this or no?

      Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
      The salvaged clusters are pretty cheap! Got my C70 cluster for $65 shipped. The cluster you mention never showed up in a P1 and would not work.
      Garage Queen - 2010 C30 R-Design Vrooooooom
      Daily - 2016 V60 T5 Drive-E Vrooooooom
      Zichrona Livracha - 2004.5 S40 T5

    24. #22
      Junior Member nathanlevang's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2016
      Location
      Santa Clarita, CA
      Posts
      492
      Quote Originally Posted by GRat9717 View Post
      The salvaged clusters are pretty cheap! Got my C70 cluster for $65 shipped. The cluster you mention never showed up in a P1 and would not work.
      The R-Design ones are at a premium though... cheapest I've seen is from Erie Volvo at around $130...

      Anyone know how much it costs to program the cluster with the ECU mileage through the dealer?

      Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

    25. #23
      Member GRat9717's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      NJ, USA
      Posts
      2,187
      Quote Originally Posted by nathanlevang View Post
      The R-Design ones are at a premium though... cheapest I've seen is from Erie Volvo at around $130...

      Anyone know how much it costs to program the cluster with the ECU mileage through the dealer?

      Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
      If you want to do it correctly you have to get a cluster with less mileage than what's on the ECU, otherwise the ECU will update to what it says on the cluster. This doesn't work the other way around - the ECU will always take the greater of two values between the cluster and itself.

      With a lower mileage cluster the ECU won't update and then you can safely get the mileage set though VIDA. I don't know how much a dealer would charge for this or if it's a standard feature in VIDA (it might be).
      Garage Queen - 2010 C30 R-Design Vrooooooom
      Daily - 2016 V60 T5 Drive-E Vrooooooom
      Zichrona Livracha - 2004.5 S40 T5

    26. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements