SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

HKS BOV

3K views 19 replies 6 participants last post by  indigo 
#1 ·
Well I've finally saved up enough for a '98 C70 5-speed, but as a poor student I don't have much left over for modifications. I've heard a lot of conflicting reports about how much work it would be to have a HKS BoV installed given the integrated wastegate and all that. Since I know at least a few people on this board have done just that I was wondering how much it cost to have it done, and what they had to modify.

Given my lack of funds I'm thinking I'll go for the IPD package (air filter/ECU/exhaust/brushings) then see if I can find the used intercooler tubing from an older 850 and then the IPD lowering springs and sway bars (i'd love to have bilsteins but that whole lack of funds thing
Anyone got any pointers, or suggestions?

~Ed

See less See more
#2 ·
First of all, welcome to the C70 society~!
Not many of us on this forum, but enough to make a difference.

Regarding the BOV, what are you trying to achieve with this upgrade? There is no gain at all in terms of HP with this mod. And from the description of your plan, it doesn't seem like you would be needing this just yet.

As for the old 850 IC pipe....not worth the effort, I doubt you can tell any difference at all.

#3 ·
I know the feeling; it took me ages to get enough cash together for my convertible and left me with little for modifications.

So far, I've blanked off the standard re-circ valve and added a Bailey's dump valve, a bleed valve and a few turns on the wastegate.

Together, the increased boost makes a good difference and in total the whole lot cost under £100, which I think is around $140.

I got the parts from www.kalmar-union.com Don't know what the mailing costs would be, but I'm sure they are available everywhere.

#4 ·