SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

Transmission

2K views 20 replies 10 participants last post by  cargusjoh 
#1 ·
Ok Peeps I got some info on the transmission. Well my mechanic told me what he did is order a transmission from vovlo and that transmission programing was erased then reprogramed with the computer for a faster ****ing time. Can only work with Auto Trannys so sorry Kai. I did see an improvement on the time so that is always a plus..

#4 ·
To be honest i dont know if the dealer would do that. It is very time consuming and not really volvo recommended. On the C70 you have to hook the computer up to your car thourgh the middle compartment then reset your transmission then program it with the different shifting ratios there is then the transmission learns the way you drive for about 600 miles. Now I am not a mechanic but he whatever he did was fast. it felt faster could be my imagination but I dont think so..

#7 ·
Say, where is your dealer? I may be traveling soon w/my C70. Very interested in this change to my 4 speed auto tranny. It always wants to upshift on me (fuel savings I guess), would appreciate faster shifts with higher shift points. no "sport mode" on 2000 ;-)

BTW I do like this tranny. Took for a drive in the mountains yesterday (Estes Park, grand Lake, Winter Park, Idaho Springs, then home). It up/down shifts nicely, and the C70 has true 1,2,3,D choices, not like my 850 l3D. And turbo is great even at 2 miles high plus!

carl

#8 ·
quote:

Originally posted by C70SPEED:
Ok Peeps I got some info on the transmission. Well my mechanic told me what he did is order a transmission from vovlo and that transmission programing was erased then reprogramed with the computer for a faster ****ing time. Can only work with Auto Trannys so sorry Kai. I did see an improvement on the time so that is always a plus..
this sounds like an excellent way to increase 0-60 times.