Oil Change and Automatic Tramission change DIY?
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Junior Member 244_GLT_TurboBrick's Avatar

Oil Change and Automatic Tramission change DIY?

Help? I dont want to go to the dealer ship,too costly,sorry i'm very new to the older volvo's,can I use castrol edge? thanks,and all I have to do for the auto trans change is buy the ipd tool and just drain it?
      1983 244 GLT,project car/new daily driver
      2005 S40 T5 AWD,baby carrier/ipd TCV,Toyo proxies T1-R's,custom flow sound exhaust,Auto meter boost gauge custom A pillar gauge fitting

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

ATF change: IPD hose (or similar) makes it real easy. IPD includes very detailed instructions. Make sure you set the ATF level correctly after you are done.

You mean that older Volvos don't have a drain plug on their Automatics? ...And no filter like my long gone XC70? I thought that Volvo only got cheap within about the last ten years or so.

5. Remove Advertisements
      SwedeSpeed.com
      Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by JBLasVegas View Post
      You mean that older Volvos don't have a drain plug on their Automatics? ...And no filter like my long gone XC70? I thought that Volvo only got cheap within about the last ten years or so.
      Old-vos do have a drain plug, but just draining and refilling the AT leaves 2 or 3 liters of old fluid in the torque converter. flushing using the trans cooler lines to pump the bad fluid out is by far the easiest AND most thorough way to do it. You don't even have to jack up the car.

And there is a filter in their, but even if changing that out, it is still best to do the flush afterward.

Quote Originally Posted by drbombay View Post