Timing, help please.
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Timing, help please.

Hey everybody, I am having an issue with setting my valve timing and finding the crank shafts proper position for setting everything.

The marks on my crankshaft pulley and flange do not seem to line up unless im looking at the wrong markings. The other issue I have found is that I cant seem to find the casting mark on the oil pump housing. I have been reading the haynes manual and in the picture they show it is rather unclear as to where the casting mark is. The last question i have is when setting the camshafts, My v70 t5 (2002) with the b5234t3 engine, has the vvt system on the exhaust cams, should i have the vvt turned all the way in a certain direction or should it be in the middle.

This is all after doing a head gasket replacement, which so far this timing issue is my only problem. this is my first time dealing with the vvt system.

I ordered the camshaft locking tool but it did not show up in time, i got it after my head and everything was back on the block.

Thanks in advance,

The kid.

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

I think i have everything figured out, and just asking for comfermation if any one can tell me, the crankshaft mark on the flange should line up with the really tiny mark on the piece that sticks out, i tried to get a picture of it but could not. all it is is the tiniest mark on the out side fire wall side of the casting that sticks out.

thanks again

the kid.

this picture makes it clear

ignore the vvt just line the marks up.

2004 XC70 2.5T AWD Crystal Green Pearl/Charcoal [240K] Mud Guards, 05- Wiper Arms, 305mm brake upgrade, Full LED Exterior, 1-inch lift Pic
      2003 XC70 2.5T AWD Silver/Charcoal [190K] XeMODeX, Mud Guards, 05- Wiper Arms, LED Headlights
      2004 S80 2.5T AWD Crystal Green Pearl/Light Sand [240K] Bi-Xenon, LED Foglights, 07 Turbo and rear diff

5. Remove Advertisements
      SwedeSpeed.com