SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cracked Blocks, an nonsensical semi-technical overview..

55K views 124 replies 36 participants last post by  blkaplan 
#1 ·
Block Crack… A technical overview…

Well, I was going to add this to the painfully long block guard vs darton sleeve thread, but that turned into mindless willy-swinging match, so instead… a fresh start.

Hi. I'm new here. I am a mechanical engineer, currently working in the Aerospace sector. Previous to that, I worked at an Automotive OEM in the Midwest in their Engine development program. Originally heavily involved in intake/Port design and CFD work, and later designing in reciprocating parts for DI engines. (Piston, rods, and rings). I will admit I never was directly involved with the design of cylinder blocks, but obviously still involved with that aspect, as they heavily influenced my pistons. (mostly focusing on bore distortion as related to piston ring sealing and piston skirt scuffing, It is surprisingly complex. And guess what? Cylinders are never round! Never ever…They are oval, sometimes kinda triangle-ly, more often they are almost clover leaf shaped, (4th order distortion, on the order of a handful of microns, but it is enough the rings which are much easier to keep round, don't seal properly.. Months, nay years, of my life was spent fighting the comformability of rings against funky shaped bores…I still have nightmares..…) Anyways, here are some things I learned along the way, some applicable to production engines, some to race engines….

First, the basics. Open deck-vs closed deck. Pictures speak a thousand words…