1965 Volvo 122 Motor Swap Ideas
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1965 Volvo 122 Motor Swap Ideas

Hello! I am new to Swedespeed, I've always gone on here and looked up miscellaneous information for the past few years since I got my Amazon. I'm sure this has always been a topic in here but I figured I might as well start a new one that I can pay attention to. I have a 1965 Volvo 122 4 door, in the process of resto-modding it. My dad has a 1966 wagon as well. Anyways, to my question. I've been trying to find a motor and trans that will give more power, maybe something with fuel injection instead of the stock B18. I have a Chevy 327 that I can piece together if I wanted to, but it's heavy, I'd have to do a couple things inside of the engine compartment to even make it fit, I think it'll give me too much power and I don't want to break the dang thing hahah. I've also been looking into a late 80's Ford turbo coupe 2.3 motor. That's my latest idea, I just want to know what you guys have done, anything you've heard of putting in, other than the simple answer of a B20 which I already have in there right now which I know has power but it's also only got the original automatic trans that's super sluggish and doesn't let the motor do what it wants. Hope to hear back! Glad to finally be on the forums!

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Simple answer is put an M41 behind that B20. Otherwise if you go to far you'll need a different rear end and other modifications to handle the power. Maybe the 2.3 turbo wouldn't be too bad.

I would keep the B20 and mate it with an M40 or (as suggested) M41 manual transmission.
      If your B20 isn't peppy enough, there are reasonable things that can be done to improve HP/performance.

If you modify this car with some other drivetrain, you'll not be able to sell it very easily IMHO. Why not keep it more or less original??

5. Remove Advertisements
      SwedeSpeed.com