OSD, a T8, and EV Charging in Norway and Sweden, anyone with experience?
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

I'm new to the OSD program and new to hybrid electric driving, and looking forward to experiencing both when we pick up our car in August. Has anyone in these forums been able to use EV Charging Stations during their overseas travel? If so, what adapter(s) to the cabling are needed, are they available to borrow, rent, or buy over there, and has anyone been successful and have any useful tips? If for no other reason, it sure be nice to take advantage of free charging and free parking, especially in Oslo. Otherwise parking the car is almost as expensive as our hotel room. In searching through the forum, I've found discussions on the possibility of making the car compatible, but I can't find anyone that has shared their experience (then again, I'm also new to writing and searching in forums). Thank you.

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

I believe the biggest problem is a difference in standard.

North American T8s come with a J1772 connector on the car, aka "Type 1" connector. Europe uses a different connector called "Type 2". You can read more about it here

So, that being said, I don't think you can get an adapter or anything that can make a type 2 connector match a type 1 connector.
      I hope I'm wrong.
      2018 XC90 T8 AWD Momentum Plus, Denim Blue, convenience, air suspension, B&W, HUD, etc
      2005 S60 2.5T AWD (OSD) Platinum Green, Premium, Convenience, Climate, Bi-Xenon, etc
      Previous:
      2016 XC90 T6 AWD (OSD) Momentum Plus, Magic Blue, vision, convenience, air suspension, B&W, HUD, etc
      2004 XC90 T6 AWD (gone but not forgotten)

Of course, after I posted the above, I found this. It looks promising although a tad expensive for just a few days.

5. Remove Advertisements
      SwedeSpeed.com
      Advertisements