S60 T5 FWD on Eco mode ...14MPG city / 15MPG Hwy????
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

c3 S60 T5 FWD on Eco mode ...14MPG city / 15MPG Hwy????

Hi all, a newbie here so I hope I am posting in the right place.

I have a new Volvo S60 T5 FWD. It is drinking gasoline like a Lamborghini and the dealership isn't sure why (though they suggested break-in period. Is that a real thing? Does the fuel management software need a break-in? How does the engine know to snap out of its gasoline addiction in 1,000 miles? I don't see how this affects any of this).

Has anyone experienced this? I went through a whole tank for 150 miles. I am at 400 miles now and finishing my 2nd tank of gas. The app and the car show 13.9-14.2 MPG in city driving. I mostly use Eco mode and I know how to drive economically. On the highway, I average 15Mpg but went as far as 19Mpg. This is alarming. This car is supposed to give me TWICE as many miles for my gas. On the current 3rd tank I moved to economy 87 and I don't see a significant performance reduction -but the gas mileage is still the same.
      Any idea?

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

There is no such thing as a engine break in as far as fuel economy is concerned. 150 miles in insane. Not to further alarm you but it seems like your car has a serious problem. My very first tank of gas I averaged 27 mpg on mixed highway/city. I usually drive in dynamic mode and have a pretty heavy foot. The lowest I have seen on a tank is 23 and that was when i was on the highway at 80+ mph.

Take your car out on a highway and then swipe left in Sensus and click driver performance. Once you get on the highway, reset it and see what reading you get after about 3-4 miles of highway coasting. It should be 30+ mpg. If you are under 20 mpg, something is way off.