SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

Changing blower motor '71 164

4K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  spiked60 
#1 · (Edited)
Changing starter on 142 and blower motor '71 164

Hello all,

I'm new to Volvos, though I have a decent amount of mechanical experience.

I'm looking a at '71 164 manual, and a late-'68 2.0 142s manual.

The blower motor on the 164 doesn't work; is this a full dash removal, or is there another way?

The 142s needs a starter motor; is straightforward on this car?

Thanks,

David, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada.

#2 · (Edited)
I have a 1971 142 E. If the '71 164 is similar to the '71 140 and the heater unit is the same, you don't need to remove the dash proper.

You will need to remove the plastic valence under the bottom of the dash which is relatively easy to do. Typically a 10 minute job tops once you know where the clips and screws are. Be careful when sliding the valence out from the retainer clips along the bottom of the dash as its a large floppy piece of plastic and its easy to twist and crack it. If the glove box is the same arrangement as on the 140 I think it would also be wise to remove the glove box at this time. On the 140 the next major hassle is the fuse panel which is mounted on the front side of the heater housing. If it is the same on the 164, you can unscrew the fuse panel from the heater housing; but, you will have to figure out whether that gives you enough slack in the wiring to slip the heater housing down and out below the panel or whether it is easier to just completely remove the panel (tag all wires with fuse number and top or bottom position and take pictures). I think you should be able to slide it down and out without disconnecting the panel (disconnect your battery ground to avoid and accidental short while you are shoving things around).