Looking to buy a used 2016 XC90. What do I have to check?
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Hi there!

I am looking to buy a used XC90 and I am new to the brand. I have two options:
      - 2016 T6 Momentum, 50k miles.
      - 2016 T5 Momentum + Plus + Vision + Convenience packages, 75k miles.
      Both are priced the same. The extra horsepower on the T6 is something not critical for me, unless you guys say otherwise I think the T5 is powerful enough.

I would like to ask your help to know what to look for and check in order to evaluate those cars. The common things that one should check when buying a used car.

Additional questions:
      - Why some XC90 have the headlights “Thor hammer” and others don’t?
      - Every 2016 XC90 has CarPlay?

Thanks in advance.

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

I would have a look at consumer reports, I don't think 2016 was a good year.

Thor’s hammer was an option on the 2016 momentum.

Not sure if CarPlay was on all of them. You want one with both android auto and CarPlay (2usb ports) because retrofitting is a pain.

Best advice is get a 2017 at minimum.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      Last edited by partridge; 11-10-2019 at 01:27 PM.
      Current:
      Linnéa: 2017 Osmium Grey XC90 T8 R-Design Vision/Climate/Conv/Air/B&W/Booster
      Deceased:
      Inga: 2004 Titanium Gray/Gobi S60R - Navigation, ipd tune, hood vent, rear window spoiler
      Astrid: 2015.5 Sapphire Black/Nubuck XC60 T6 AWD R-Design Platinum BLIS Climate Polestar

5. Remove Advertisements
      SwedeSpeed.com
      Advertisements

I would not consider buying a 16 unless it is Volvo CPO only. Too many issues that continue to plague this car.
      The T5 is less troublesome of the 2 engines and still offers plenty of power and good fuel economy