Pirelli Sottozero Series II Winter Tire Qualms - Better options!?
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Pirelli Sottozero Series II Winter Tire Qualms - Better options!?

Living in the Northwestern part of Pennsylvania, I like to think I'm a seasoned winter driver and having nearly 200 inches of snowfall last year, I'm relying on a great set of snow tires for my 100 mile daily commute.
      So, I picked up a set of fairly new ( was told used one season if I remember correct ) 235/40R19 Pirelli Sottozero Series II Winter Tire from a fellow forum member over the summer to run this year mounted on 19" XC40 wheels.

Last night, we had our first bigger snow fall, a mere 9-10" in my area and I have to say, these Pirelli's completely suck. With roads semi-cleared and driving through only a little bit of the white stuff, I was tracking back and forth, sliding from a stop under barely any gas and felt like I was gliding over the snow the entire time. I haven't felt this unsure about driving a vehicle in a long time.. heck, last year, I ran the stock Pirelli All Seasons and they did better than these snows feel. Now I do need to measure the tread depth to see exactly how used they are but they feel, with my finger tips, like there's quite a bit of life left in them.. I mean they look great too.

So, what I'm wondering is, what is everyone else using. 235/40R19 doesn't leave a lot of options for tires it seems but I'd like to hear some feedback and suggestions. I've previously ran multiple sets of Firestone Winterforces, the older Hankook Winter I-Pikes and Blizzaks on older vehicles and have always liked them.

Help!
      2015.5 V60 R Design Platinum w/ Polestar Tune
      Elevate Rear Sway Bar
      Powerflex Race Torque Rod Inserts
      Morimoto XB 5000K HIDs
      Interior LED Swap
      10MM/15MM Spacers
      25% Tint

Summer:
      245/40R19 Firestone Firehawk Indy 500
      19" Ixion IIs
      Winter: