Rims/Tires
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Thread: Rims/Tires

Rims/Tires

I own a 2011 Volvo s60 AWD. I bought it used, and since then my tires have been giving me a lot of issues. My roads contain a lot of potholes and unsmooth roads, and while I try my best to avoid them, sometimes I can't.

Currently the car comes with 18 inch rims (235/45/r18/95V).

I am seriously considering switching to 16 or 17 in rims, but I'm not sure how to go about it as this is my first time.

I've been told that I should look at the rim/tire packages on TireRack.com but there are different options.
      I'm mostly concerned about safety- enjoyable experience/smooth sporty rides is not important to me at all. I would take a rough ride if that meant increased safety/decreased risk of tire blow out/skidding.

With that said, are 16 in rims the most advisable? If so, which offset should I choose? (I see +45mm, 42, 48... not sure how this would affect the safety or longevity of the rims and tires)

Also which all season tires are most safe?

How do I go about purchasing and installing TPMS sensors when I switch my rims?

Thanks for any advice you can offer!!

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Considering the same move myself - Seems I only have to think about a pothole to crack the 18” Sleipners on my 11 S60
      2009 C70 T5, Celestial Blue 130k
      2011 S60 T6 AWD Caspian Blue

I definitely want to change mine, just for peace of mind.

What do you think about these:

https://www.tirerack.com/wheels/Whee...Standard+Tires

5. Remove Advertisements
      SwedeSpeed.com
      Advertisements

Watch out for brake disc clearance issues with some of the 16 inch options. You might be better off looking at 17 inch as many of the S60s from that generation came from the factory with 17 inch wheels.
      2015 V60 T6 AWD Sport Suspension, ipd rear sway bar, 19 inch Bor wheels, Polestar Optimization, Premium Plus, Silver