ECU Quiescent Current Too High error in VIDA?
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    1. #1
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 2019
      Location
      Concord, MA
      Posts
      713

      ECU Quiescent Current Too High error in VIDA?

      Anyone want to take a guess what this error is?

      error_code_01.06.2020.jpg

    2. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    3. #2
      Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2017
      Posts
      3,178
      Is it permanent or does it clear? Can You post a screenshot of the Battery SoC history screen (bottom of the list under Service Functions)

    4. #3
      Junior Member RootDKJ's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      North Jersey
      Posts
      720
      That is what was wrong with my T8. Volvo just replaced the CEM and a bunch of relays.
      2019 Bursting Blue XC60 R-Design T8
      | 21" Wheels | Exterior Style Kit | Advanced | 4C Air | B & W | CPO 10yr/Unlimited |
      2010 Maple Red XC60 T6 retired at 173,375 miles

    5. Remove Advertisements
      SwedeSpeed.com
      Advertisements
       

    6. #4
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 2019
      Location
      Concord, MA
      Posts
      713
      Quote Originally Posted by Tech View Post
      Is it permanent or does it clear? Can You post a screenshot of the Battery SoC history screen (bottom of the list under Service Functions)
      Will check when I get back home. I assume the state of charge history is available through the OTA diagnostics I've pulled?

    7. #5
      Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2017
      Posts
      3,178
      Quote Originally Posted by nbvolks View Post
      Quote Originally Posted by Tech View Post
      Is it permanent or does it clear? Can You post a screenshot of the Battery SoC history screen (bottom of the list under Service Functions)
      Will check when I get back home. I assume the state of charge history is available through the OTA diagnostics I've pulled?
      The SoC isn't actually what I'm looking at. The screen also shows a quiescent current history which would be important to see if you have a draw. The vast majority of your instances should be in the 0-100mA area.

    8. #6
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 2019
      Location
      Concord, MA
      Posts
      713
      Quote Originally Posted by Tech View Post
      The SoC isn't actually what I'm looking at. The screen also shows a quiescent current history which would be important to see if you have a draw. The vast majority of your instances should be in the 0-100mA area.
      To answer my own question, no I can't pull the SoC history OTA. It only allows for that with the car connected. But since I had it open anyway, here's the list of DTCs.

      DTCs_01.15.2020.jpg

      The two speaker ones are just from when I swapped out the HK speakers for the B&Ws ones. Odd that it caught some, but not all of them.

      All the yellow ones seem to have been ghost codes or something, because they're logged, but resolved.

    9. #7
      Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2017
      Posts
      3,178
      So that's just from an old readout? Do you have VIDA? Yes, the SoC tool needs the car connected. I assumed you had VIDA.

      Anyway, that code is stored if the quiescent current exceeds a certain amount (I don't remember the threshold off hand). I've seen it in a lot of cars with no symptoms. If the counters show a vast majority of the time the current is 0-100mA, I don't think there is a problem.

    10. #8
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 2019
      Location
      Concord, MA
      Posts
      713
      Quote Originally Posted by Tech View Post
      So that's just from an old readout? Do you have VIDA? Yes, the SoC tool needs the car connected. I assumed you had VIDA.

      Anyway, that code is stored if the quiescent current exceeds a certain amount (I don't remember the threshold off hand). I've seen it in a lot of cars with no symptoms. If the counters show a vast majority of the time the current is 0-100mA, I don't think there is a problem.
      I do have VIDA, I just don't currently have a way to physically connect to the car to use some of the features, so I'm limited to the OTA options. So in this case, I can see all errors logged up to the date/time I pull the log OTA. So by "old" that log was as of the 16th, and included all errors since the last time the Service 2.0 software was loaded, which for me was over the summer.

    11. #9
      Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2017
      Posts
      3,178
      Gotcha. We were just mixing up terminology. Sorry for the confusion.

    12. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 11-01-2019, 03:24 PM
    2. Replies: 3
      Last Post: 08-02-2015, 11:04 PM
    3. Error Code: Leakage diagnostic unit, pump -- Signal too high
      By Stubaru in forum R Forum (2004-2007)
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 05-30-2013, 08:42 PM
    4. Will current-gen XC90 ever get the current-gen T6?
      By rfkuehn in forum XC90 (2003 - 2014)
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 07-06-2009, 12:13 PM
    5. Mileage: How high is too high?
      By Muskoka in forum S70, V70 & V70XC (1998-2000)
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 10-25-2005, 02:28 PM