Motorcycle hitch carrier
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Motorcycle hitch carrier

Hey everyone. Im brand new to owning a 2017 xc90 t8 with the air suspension. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on if it is a bad idea or not to haul light motorcycles on a hitch mounted carrier. My main concern is the air suspension. I installed a stealth hitch on it and they say it is safe up to 500#. With my ktm 525 weighing in around 300# with full fuel and the carrier at around 50# im well under that limit, but having no prior experience with volvos or anything with air suspension and i would love to not learn the hard way.
      This load up was only for a small drive in town. Im planning a 7 hour round trip drive with the bike for 4th of july and would love to take the volvo!

Please let me know any thoughts im all ears.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      Last edited by grnbaja72; 06-30-2020 at 04:07 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

the problem is ball pressure is not static on your setup. every time you go over a bump, the pressure changes, unlike a trailer. for this reason, volvo has discontinued a lot of there bike racks, and the others are limited to only two bikes despite being 4 bike carriers. the length of bike carrier makes a big difference as it acts like a lever on the trailer hitch. to be honest i wouldnt go cross country like that. around town maybe, but 7 hour trip id definitely be looking at renting a u haul trailer or something