New to the forum, just bought a '63 544
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

New to the forum, just bought a '63 544

Hello all. I bought a 1963 Volvo PV544 to restore a week ago. The car was the previous owner's parts car, so I have a bit of work to do. Most of it is there, what was taken didn't come from the engine, and what went was mostly replaced by parts from the other car (though not installed). It has the B18 and the 4 speed. I'm told it hasn't run in more than 10 years, but was a daily driver before the guy who had it died. It then became the parts car of a friend of his after sitting all those years. My hope is that it will fire up and be in good enough shape as is to have a driveable project that I can then improve little by little. I love forums like this one. I have found them to be great resources, and I enjoy being able to share my knowledge with others. I'm new to Volvos though. The first thing I need to know, and I'm hoping that someone here can tell me, is where can I find a distributor oil priming tool for this car? The engine has to be bone dry. Otherwise I'm about ready to try and start it. I'm eager to find out what I have.

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Congrats, although it looks like you have quite the parts-scrounging journey ahead!

You can maybe make a tool to engage the oil pump drive with a metal rod milled to have a flat key at one end. Pull the distributor with the alloy base piece (two bolts into flange on block), then extract the drive gear by turning CCW and pulling up. You'll see it about 4" down. Chuck the tool in a hand drill and be ready for some serious resistance.