Hitch Installation Thread
Username
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Because of the number of members who have recently installed a hitch, I thought I'd make a thread where people can post their experience or tips/questions. I initially wanted an OEM foldout hitch but the deal breaker was that I needed to tow but also use my hitch mounted bike rack. So Stealth was the way to go. I chose to do the installation myself for a few reasons: My dealer was unfamiliar with Stealth. My local Rack/Attack had not done a V90. I'm fairly comfortable using tools and working on cars and enjoy small projects and felt that if anybody was going to break my car - it would be me. The following is not a step by step instruction but simply areas where I thought additional info would have helped me - I'm by no means a mechanic, so everything following is strictly where I had minor problems. All in all it was not a difficult project - but I took my time. It took 6 hours in total spread over one evening and the following morning.

For the most part, I will reference the Stealth V90 Installation instruction Steps found here: https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/21...017-C.pdf?8338 I will reference the Step number and post where I deviated from the instructions. I hope the photo's post, I've had trouble with this before.

Stealth Hitch Installation on 2019 Volvo V90 CC.

Step 2: I could not access the fender liner screws without removing the wheels - so I put my car up on Jack Stands. This made if very easy. Note: You could probably access the screws without removing the wheels if you used a T25 Allen key. Otherwise, there was no room - even for just a T25 socket head.

Steps 5 and 6: